RSS

Golden Croutons

30 May

Roast Garlic with Croutons - Window To News

I don’t know about you, but I love croutons on my soup. Hot soup with crisp croutons makes for a great winter dinner.

I used to generally buy the crouton and when I ran out, I was too lazy to make my own. Trusted AirFryer to rescue! I realised, not only is it super easy, but that I can innovate and make different flavours to add to my soup! Not only can I innovate with the flavour but also the bread. I have tried Foccacia, plain white bread, whole meal bread and sourdough bread. Since it is so quick, I just use left over bread… the drier the better!

I have tried I have listed a few a few different variations. Add your favourite herbs to give it your unique signature. Here are some of my favourite crouton recipes in my trusted AirFryer… but don’t stick to these, try others and let me know which variations you tried!

Rosemary Croutons

Ingredients
4 slices of bread of your choice
2 Tblspn of Spreadable Butter or Olive Oil

AND

Rosemary Croutons

Ingredients
Dried Rosemary
Sprinkle of Pepper

Garlic Croutons

Ingredients
Dried Parsley
Sprinkle of Pepper
Garlic Powder

Parmesan Croutons

Ingredients

2 Tblspn of Olive Oil
Dried Thyme
1tbsp of Parmesan

Directions

In a large bowl, prepare a mixture of melted spreadable butter and dried herbs. Generously spread it over the cubed bread pieces.

Lay bread slices on top of each other and cut them into cubes using serrated knife . I cut them slightly larger as the bread slices would shrink in size a bit. You could leave the crumbs on or take it off as per your choice. I hate wastage so leave them on 🙂 Pour melted butter or oil and herbs of your choice in a bowl and whisk it. A dash of salt would enhance the taste but is not necessary. Put the bread crumbs in the bowl and mix till all the slices are nicely coated with the herb mixture.


Preheat the Philips Airfryer to 160C (320F) for 3 minutes. Once heated, place the bread cubes into the tray and air fry them for 8 minutes, remembering to shake it a couple of times in between. At this stage, the bread cubes will be slightly crispy on the outer surface and very light brown in color.
After 8 minutes, turn up the heat to 180 C (356F) and airfry for a further 4-6 minutes checking every now and then.

Perfectly browned Croutons will be ready to serve with your salad or heartwarming soup.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 30, 2020 in Airfryer, Contemporary, Smart Cookie

 

Tags: ,

Leave a comment

 
Women in Bollywood

A journey through heroine-oriented cinema